Connecticut Asylum For The Deaf And Dumb. Web opened in 1817 as the connecticut asylum (at hartford) for the education and instruction of deaf and dumb persons, the name later changed to the american school for the. Web soon after its establishment, the federal government awarded the connecticut asylum a grant of 23,000 acres of land in alabama to help the school provide education for deaf.

Opened in 1817 as the connecticut asylum (at. Web a sermon delivered at the opening of the connecticut asylum for the education and instruction of deaf and dumb persons, april 20th,. Web the connecticut asylum for the education and instruction of deaf and dumb persons, the first permanent school for deaf americans, opened on april 15, 1817, in.